You are currently viewing Salah to face Mane in AFCON final as Egypt win shootout

Salah to face Mane in AFCON final as Egypt win shootout

Liverpool forwards Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane will go head-to-head in the final of the Africa Cup of Nations on Sunday as Egypt take on Senegal.

Salah and his Egypt team-mates, including Aston Villa‘s Trezeguet and Arsenal‘s Mohamed Elneny, booked their place in the final by beating hosts Cameroon on penalties on Thursday.

After a goalless 120 minutes, Egypt won the shootout 3-1, triumphing without Salah needing to step up to the spot. Former Tottenham Hotspur winger Clinton N’Jie was the third and final player to miss a penalty for Cameroon.

On Wednesday, Mane became Senegal’s joint-highest international goalscorer in his semi-final, leading his country to a 3-1 win over Burkina Faso. 

Mane lifted in Senegal’s third goal on 87 minutes after being played in by Watford‘s Ismaila Sarr, taking his tally to 29 goals for his country, matching former Southampton and Wolverhampton Wanderers striker Henri Camara

Mane also assisted their second goal, scored by ex-Everton midfielder Idrissa Gueye, before Blati Toure pulled a goal back for Burkina Faso, for whom Aston Villa winger Bertrand Traore impressed.

Saturday 5 February
19:00 GMT: Third-place playoff – Burkina Faso v Cameroon

Sunday 6 February
19:00 GMT: Final – Senegal v Egypt

PL players remaining in AFCON

Egypt Mohamed Elneny (ARS), Trezeguet (AVL), Mohamed Salah (LIV)
Senegal Edouard Mendy (CHE); Cheikhou Kouyate (CRY), Nampalys Mendy (LEI), Sadio Mane (LIV), Ismaila Sarr (WAT)

PL players out of AFCON

Algeria Riyad Mahrez (MCI), Said Benrahma (WHU)
Côte d’Ivoire Eric Bailly (MUN), Maxwel Cornet (BUR), Willy Boly (WOL), Nicolas Pepe (ARS), Wilfried Zaha (CRY)
Gabon Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (ARS), Ulrick Eneme-Ella (BHA)
Ghana Daniel Amartey (LEI), Thomas Partey (ARS), Jordan Ayew (CRY)
Guinea Naby Keïta (LIV)
Mali Moussa Djenepo (SOU), Yves Bissouma (BHA)
Morocco Romain Saïss (WOL); Adam Masina (WAT), Imran Louza (WAT)
Nigeria William Troost-Ekong (WAT), Alex Iwobi (EVE), Wilfred Ndidi (LEI), Frank Onyeka (BRE), Kelechi Iheanacho (LEI)
Tunisia Omar Rekik (ARS), Hannibal Mejbri (MUN)
Burkina Faso Bertrand Traore (AVL)


Leave a Reply